Farm Subsidies

Help Support CattleToday:

tncattle

Reaction score
Just really have started finding out about farm subsidies. How do they work and who gets them?

tncattle":1bxcln0x said:
Just really have started finding out about farm subsidies. How do they work and who gets them?

Talk to your local FSA folks.

dun

I don't take a dam_ed dime from the feds. They're always looking for a way to get you under their control.

If you really feel like you need to do this then see your local FSA people. And then if you can understand what they want from you then get after it.

I'm just learning what they are, I haven't started anything yet I'm just trying my best to learn about the cattle business.

Tncattle, I'm new too but last I knew there are no subsidy programs for livestock producers. If you also grow row crops that is where the subsidies are. There are cost share programs to help with building infrastructure, fencing etc. Like others have said check with your fsa or county extension office.

I haven't really checked into anything a whole lot yet because we are strictly livestock at the moment and don't own the land we use. But in the near future I may check into cost share programs. There are alot of factors that will determine which direction we take our operation.

Good luck to you.

tncattle":23i6tsxn said:
I'm just learning what they are, I haven't started anything yet I'm just trying my best to learn about the cattle business.

It's Welfare plan and simple you are taking tax dollars to support you.

tncattle":w6szi4w1 said:
I don't even know what FSA stands for. Is it Federal Subsidy Associaton?

Farm Service Agency, it's under the USDA

I'm pretty new, too, but here goes:

Saw your other post asking about grants. Not sure what your intent is or if you are just seriously short of start up costs, but if getting free money from the gov't is your goal, there are much better ways than cattle. :lol: