Expected gains from spring grass flush?

Help Support CattleToday:

SCRUBS620

Reaction score
What kind of gains on feeder calves can you expect off of good actively growing spring pasture? It is orchard grass/rye grass/clover. I just need a good guestimate or what you have got in the past. Also besides mineral supplements do I need to supplement with alfalfa hay or some other protein supplement? I know spring grass has good energy values but I am not sure of the protein available. At this time of the year it is mostly grass growing, the clover is not very active yet.

Im new to this but here is what I have been taught...

The spring flush often times contains too much protien and will by-pass the rumen and go to the liver and actually cause cattle to lose weight. One way to help the animal balance things out is to have dry hay available free-choice. I cant quote anything directly, but have read studies that show better performance, better gains, when hay was out free choice.

I just bought a scale so I cant say for sure what my cattle gain in the spring, but I would think 2+ lbs a day is pretty reasonable on good pasture. I have similar pasture, P.rye/W.clover, Orch./Clover....

Thanks LukeM86. That is what I was thinking and I believe I have read that somewhere. I was hoping to hear from someone who has done this. I know the average for stocker cattle held until fall is probably like 1 to 1.5 lbs/day but that is with the summer slump averaged in. I am hoping for more like 2 lbs/day if I only keep them while the grass is growing really well.