Corkscrew claw treatment

Help Support CattleToday:

Manunitedtopgear

Reaction score
Hello everyone, this is my first time on this board and I have a question concerning my 7 month old heifer. I took her to the vets a couple of months ago and he said she might have cc claw, another vet there said he did not think she did. Anyways I am wondering if anyone as any experience with this, how do I tell if she has it and does anyone have a cow that has cc claw that they have kept and treated in any way. Her claws are curved inward but they don't look like characteristic cc claw to me. Any advice would help me, I run a very small farm and I don't want to cull her. Thank you

Give her time. If the toes continue to cross, cull her. There is no long term treatment. You can trim the toes every 6 months or so but that won;t really help. She'll end up sore footed and lamed up from it eventually.

Is there a diffrence between cc claw and scissor claw, personally from the pictures I have seen of both it looks more like scissor claw to me

And most likely giving it to her off spring and spreading the problem. Best not to get attached. Cause then she has a heifer, and she's cute so you keep her, and her bad toes dont show up for 2 yrs when she has her 1st calf.. And then that calf has bad feet, her mother has had a couple more calves with bad feet in the meantime, and suddenly you have a mess on your hands.

As far as I have looked up this is an autosomal recessive trait which means her offspring would have to receive a copy of the bad Gene from her mom and her dad to be affected by the bad trait. Does anyone on here have a cc cow?. I am just bummed by this situation because I just spent 600 dollars getting a bone chip removed from her leg.