Calf from a show Heifer - stiff legged

Help Support CattleToday:

AdamT

Reaction score
Located in north Texas, small town East of McKinney Texas.

First and foremost thanks for reading this and I am relatively new to the whole cattle arena. Love it... but new to it and the only exposure I have had has been the last 3 years- all dealing with show heifers and steers, no claves until this year. My daughter on the other hand wants to go to Vet school at Texas A&M and has a tremendous amount of exposure and work eithic. She has volunteered at the vet over 800 hours and is in a vet science class, ranked #1 academically to try and better her chances of getting accepted into vet school. The only reason I tell you my daughters background a little is to show how determined she is in trying to get this bull calf right.

She (junior in high school in FFA and 4H) currently has a Chianina, bred earlier this year. The Chi was breed by Ai to Ali Solution (smaller birth weight calves typically). The Chi gave birth to a bull calf on 10/19/14 @ 9:30PM ~65 pound calf, took 2 1/2 hours before the calf stood up - didn't think it was normal. Did not notice him eat for 12 hrs so we took him to the vet that morning where he was given colostrum via a tube feeding, a couple of shots - I think antibiotic and steroid of some sort (didn't write it down and should have - lessoned learned), and iodine on the cord. By 5PM that day he began eating off of mom and has been eating ever since.