Breeding questions

Help Support CattleToday:

Cbeck01

Reaction score
So I'm new to farming simms. I grew up on a Hereford farm, but I'm definitely still learning. So as I said I have simms and I'm trying to figure out what to AI them to. I really like the look of simbrah, but I'm not sure of the benefits? Or if I should just use a sim bull and keep registered simms? Or use a Hereford bull and get baldies? As you can see I have quite the dilemma lol. I'm planning on just selling the bulls/steers at the market, but I want to end up with real docile heifers and cows on the farm. Any thoughts?
Thanks for your time

what are the pedigrees in your Simmentals? There are MANY great simmental bulls to use in AI, you just need a direction on where you want to take your herd.
Welcome to the breed, they are some of the best cattle we think! I can walk up to every one of our cows and heifers and scratch them, very docile!

Most are out of Nichols legacy line and cns dream on. I just bred a few to Nichols shannigan, I really liked the look of him

What are your goals?
Are you looking to expand your herd numbers by keeping replacement females?
Sounds like your males will all be terminals, so one big strike against breeding back to purebreds right off the bat.
F1 would seem to me the best way to go.
Which f1 female sells best in your location?
Is that also the f1 cross you would like to keep for your own herd?
Around here sim-angus cows are popular, so a high docility black angus bull would be on my list. (But not necessarily yours)

When I think of baldies, angus/hereford cows is what comes to mind.
I'd be interested in hearing what others think of simmi/herefords as f1 baldy cows.

Where are you from? If you are down by me adding some Brahma will help if you are from other places it could hurt.

Most of my herd is out of Nichols legacy, cns dream on and ameritrade.

I live in central/eastern Ohio.