Blue Calf

Help Support CattleToday:

ClinchValley

Reaction score
I returned to the house yesterday to find that our oldest cow, Charolais X Angus, had calved. She had a 75 lb bull calf. Sire is a Red Limo, papered. All the 2016 calves have been red in color until now. I am relatively new at this, so excuse my lack of knowing. With dogs, I refer to this color is Blue. Some call it gray. While researching the color online just this morning, I was seeing it referred to as blue roan… Not sure if that applies to this little guy or not, but he is definitely blue all over. Not a spot of white that I noticed. Evidently its black and white hairs, similar to my blue heeler?

Anyways, I love the color. Is this color bad? Myself, I would love to have an entire herd this color. I am curious as to whether it is a desirable color? Or if he get beat up bad for his color come sale day.

From what I gather it is hard to get this color. A blue dam and blue sire will not necessarily result in a blue calf. Is it a genetic mistake as far as neither color being dominant 100%?

Just curious what you all think of blue cattle…

Thanks

Edit: Dam is smoke colored. A dirty white.

Black gene meets diluter gene, bingo, grey. To be a true roan it would have to inherit a roan gene from usually a shorthorn.

You'll get killed at the sale barn with the blue roan calf. Here, it is almost always a shorthorn trait and the buyers will dock you just because they can. Personally I think the blues are pretty cattle, just sucks they're not money makers.

I won't be surprised that Char hides the roan gene from breeding up programs. I've heard of chars throw white faces, spots and skunktails.

He is very pretty if you were to ask me, man. Hmm… Is diluter gene a bad thing? When you say usually? Are there exceptions to that? As to how I understood it, roan was descriptive to a gene. Is it breed specific? For clarification purposes.