black hereford ?

Help Support CattleToday:

lakeviewwalker

Reaction score
I am not trying to start a fight here I just really am curious. What us black hereford I am new to beef cows but I have been around agriculture for my whole life but I have never until I found this web site heard of black hereford s. Are they really a Angus hereford Cross ? Or where does the black come from. they look just like my baldies

lakeviewwalker":3n4zc59h said:
I am not trying to start a fight here I just really am curious. What us black hereford I am new to beef cows but I have been around agriculture for my whole life but I have never until I found this web site heard of black hereford s. Are they really a Angus hereford Cross ? Or where does the black come from. they look just like my baldies

HOW DARE YOU! :deadhorse:

lakeviewwalker":3ne5hhpp said:
Black Hereford is a registered crossbred of Black Angus and Hereford (if they are really angus x hereford cross)...but in my opinion that they looks like more holstein x hereford cross than angus x hereford. They must be 5/8 hereford and 3/8 black angus to be a black hereford.

lakeviewwalker":1k1o0l4y said:
maybe on the hide...

lakeviewwalker":3ajdv9qq said:

If they look just like your baldies then you need to start using better hereford genetics in making your baldies!

Taurus":2hb6rw6c said:
jcarkie":2hb6rw6c said:
check out http://www.blackhereford.com for more information. http://www.jnranch.net they have couple of sales every year and started the whole process of making Herefords black hided like everybody else. color sells after all.
Yup to newbies that know nothing about the cattle business.

Are you talking about all those newbie order buyers, and newbie feedlot managers? It might just be the general publics perception about angus cattle, but there is a reason buyers pay more for blacks.

ChrisB":1lvbbq8g said:
there is a reason buyers pay more for blacks.