Best gate, swing or slide?

Help Support CattleToday:

Reaction score
I need to put up a gate into my place. I need 30 feet of width for occasional machinery.
I was thinking 2 6 foot gates, one manual swing gate and one automatic gate. My wife wants an automatic gate that slides.

Which is more reliable?

Thanks.

I personally would go with the swing. Kiss.
The double is just as reliable though. Just a bit more pricey. And as farm mentioned the gates can be built out off square to fit any grade. Well the down hill on a swing can as well.
If 7- 8 inches of ground clearance is acceptable I prefer a cantilever style slider over the v-track style. Especially around any type of loose gravel.
Don't scrimp on installation or operator.
The wife won't be happy climbing the fence in the rain. .

What machinery do you have that needs a 30ft opening? Openers usually don't work well with large gates. 2 12's or 2 14's might be the way to go if it would work. I have no experience with sliding gates, but the openers on swinging gates can work just fine if installed and adjusted properly.

edit: just to clarify you mean 2 16 foot gates in your original post?

Yes, 2 16 foot gates. The farmer that leases some of my land has some combines and cultivators that he brings in. I asked him for minimum clearance and he stated that 30 feet would be OK. I haven't seen 15 foot gates, so added the extra foot to each.

I would prefer the swing gate myself.

I would put one 16' on an opener for your use and let him get out and open the other when he brings the equipment in.

How is he driving down the road to come in to your property with his 30' header on the combine? What kind of cultivator is 30' that won't fold up?

Brute 23":m0yr4j0b said:
I would put one 16' on an opener for your use and let him get out and open the other when he brings the equipment in.