7.3L Conversion

Help Support CattleToday:

DiamondSCattleCo

Reaction score
The neighbor is trying to sell me his <gasp> Ford 3/4 ton 7.3L Diesel to be used as a work truck. I've had some experience with the 7.3s, and I know they're a pretty tough engine, but this is the non-powerstroke variety and underpowered. What I was wondering is if anyone had turbo'ed and intercooled a standard 7.3. Flaboy, you ever heard of anyone doing this? From what I remember, about the only difference between a standard 7.3 and the Powerstroke was the Powerstroke had slightly smaller injectors.

Rod

It's far easier to get a 7.3 powerstroke engine out of a salvage yard and drop it in but, make sure you get the computers/sensors and everything else off of the firewall. Some years they would bolt right up others they would not.

Hereford, I'm not really all that interested in turning this engine into a genuine Powerstroke, especially not with a whack of electronics. Bolting on a turbo and intercooler and adjusting a manual fuel pump is pretty easy work, I just wanted to ensure that all the necessary mounting holes are where they need to be. Nothing worse than pulling everything down only to find out that you need to custom fabricate a bunch of stuff.

Rod

DiamondSCattleCo":mnbj3t9z said:
The neighbor is trying to sell me his <gasp> Ford 3/4 ton 7.3L Diesel to be used as a work truck. I've had some experience with the 7.3s, and I know they're a pretty tough engine, but this is the non-powerstroke variety and underpowered. What I was wondering is if anyone had turbo'ed and intercooled a standard 7.3. Flaboy, you ever heard of anyone doing this? From what I remember, about the only difference between a standard 7.3 and the Powerstroke was the Powerstroke had slightly smaller injectors.

Rod