4-H steer? Any tips or tricks? Advice?

Help Support CattleToday:

poultryrancher

Reaction score
It's only two weeks (okay, 2 1/2) until the county fair :D [youtube][/youtube]. This is my first year raising a 4-H steer. I've had him since the end of march. I got him as a pasture raised, 800 LBS animal who had only had a halter on for two weeks before we brought him home. He's come A LONG WAY since then! Today was the last steer project meeting, and I learned how to set him up for showmanship, etc. We also weighed him, and he weighs in at 1000 LBS. We are still feeding him fitter's edge and a little less than a leaf of bermuda hay. :banana:
Any tips or tricks I should know about taking a steer to the fair, showing him, showmanship, grooming, clipping, showmanship attire (I'm planning on wearing black levis, western boots and a black western shirt--I think a black shirt will match the steer's color and show dirt less easily), etc? As I said, I'm still a complete newbie at this, so do you experienced folks have any advice :help: ? My steer is 3/4 angus, 1/4 Shorthorn if it makes any difference. The other kids in the project have Maine Anjou's. All of our steer are within 20 LBS of each other, regardless of breed. ALSO, the leader said my steer looks a little different when set up because his legs are short? WHAT? Is that a typical angus thing or just my steer :???: ? I picked him out myself, and tried to pick one based on personality, so I had no idea what to look for confirmation wise. Also, are Maine Anjou's typically more mellow than Angus? Just wondering.
Thanks in advance!!!!

Many of the youth where we live (including my children) wear starched blue jeans and a nice long sleeved western shirt. Your belt should match your boots. Wear colors that look good on you.

Keep practicing leading him and setting him up. Your leader or 4-H Extension Agent should be able to show you how to clip and fit him for the fair.