2008 Haying - Alabama Style

Help Support CattleToday:

Nowland Farms

Reaction score
As you saw in my other post on "Who's cutting Hay" - the neighbor and I put 24 acres of Costal and 13 acres of MaxQ on the ground today. Expect to bail the Costal on Monday and the MaxQ on Tuesday.

Here are a few pictures of my MaxQ which looks to be about the same as last years hay. I believe I got 68 5'x4' rolls off 13 1/2 acres last year.

IMG_2971.jpg

IMG_2961.jpg

IMG_2966.jpg

IMG_2969.jpg

Ain't it fun cutting a stand of grass like that. Looks like it's going to make some pretty good hay.

man thats a nice stand of grass.sure makes you smile while your cutting an baling it.

I wish I could get a weather window to cut hay. I have hay that heavy, and can't get it cut.
Are the pictures the Max Q or the Coastal? I have no experience with either, but what I see looks like fescue?
Nice, heavy hay.

man i love seeing that...i think we are gonna cut one of our hay fields tomorrow. this is always my favorite time of year

Are you going to enter the hay quality contest again this year?
(For those who don't know, this fella can grow some blue ribbon hay)

Joo,

I dropped by the Regional County agents home yesterday and picked up the core bit. Tomorrow when we bale, I will have Pop in the truck going around taken core samples as soon as they come out of the baler. I'll have it tested again and we will see how it turns out. $15 for the hay analais isn't too much, It helps me understand what I have to work with next winter.

And yes, last year I had some decent cool season grass hay. Last year I was lucky enough to have my hay win 1st place in it's class at the Alabama Hay Contest and 2nd place in it's class in the Sunbelt Expo in Moultire GA. As the old saying goes, even a blind dog finds a bone every once in a while.....

denoginnizer":2xg0voqu said:
What is that doohickey on the front of the tractor?