Taxes

Help Support CattleToday:

Kell-inKY

Reaction score
Couple of tax questions for a newbie, this is our 3rd year on a farm, it's only 60 acres but about 58 of it is accessible to cattle.

They have a form at Rural King that is a tax exempt form I guess. Everything I buy there is for the farm. Is this asking for trouble as far as the IRS, or is it a standard thing? I don't have a tax I.D.# but it doesn't ask for one either. Anything I purchase that would be for personal use I would do separately.

Also, on our taxes, I have tons of receipts for cattle vaccinations, gates, farm stuff in general, but i am wondering if I can claim stuff like dogfood for our farm dogs as well as their vaccinations? This may be a dumb question, but we would not have any cats or dogs if it were not for the farm, although the barn cats probably do more work in actuality.

These are just oddball things I wonder about, like boots/clothes that I purchase for the farm? I'm new to this, our taxes were always super easy in the past. Thanks

Have your taxes done by an accountant that does a lot of farmers. I would get the farm exemption. It's silly not to.

Your tax exempt form will tell you what is and isn't taxable. I am sure Rural King is like most ag type stores and their cash register knows what items are taxable regardless if you have a tax number. Clothes and pet food are generally not tax exempt but their are some exceptions.

Kell-inKY":1g8j3dmo said:
Also, on our taxes, I have tons of receipts for cattle vaccinations, gates, farm stuff in general, but i am wondering if I can claim stuff like dogfood for our farm dogs as well as their vaccinations? This may be a dumb question, but we would not have any cats or dogs if it were not for the farm, although the barn cats probably do more work in actuality.

Dogs have to have a purpose other than being a house/farm pet.