feeder lot

Help Support CattleToday:

gerardplauche

Reaction score
I have been feeding out calves for resale now for about 2 years and I want to make sure I am being efficient. I am buying calves around 225 lbs and selling around 500 lbs. So far this is working for me, but I want to make sure thre is not a better way. Any thoughts??

Usually cost of gain is chepaer for 5-6 wights then the ral light weights. Most beef calves aren;t even weaned at 225 lbs.

We have been doing the same thing for 3 generations. We have found that cattle much over 500 pounds take more grain and time to turn a profit. We buy them around 250 to 350 pounds keep them for 60 to 90 days and sell them at 500 to 600 pounds. The trick is knowing the market when to sell and what you can buy them for.

footballjdtractor":kemhfy1c said:
my hat is off to anyone who can keep a 225 pound calf alive long enough for them to weigh 500. You are better than me.

you sound pretty easily impressed. depending on facilities and equipment that plan sounds like it would work to me. i dont intend on finishing any of my steers. i will let some of the high roller feed them 20lb of corn per day!!jmo :lol:

The mortality rate is about 10%, in my experience. Anything bought under 200 lbs is a 50/50 chance....[/quote]

gerardplauche":3b7tyzvx said:
I have been feeding out calves for resale now for about 2 years and I want to make sure I am being efficient. I am buying calves around 225 lbs and selling around 500 lbs. So far this is working for me, but I want to make sure thre is not a better way. Any thoughts??

Are you figuring in death losses? Sickness/gain loss?

I would assume that older calves might be less susceptible to disease and such that might effect mortality rates and efficiencies.