Wagyu...

Help Support CattleToday:

WestTNguy

Reaction score
I posted earlier in the beginners board, if you'd like to get some background of where I am coming from. I am a true beginner. But, I have the opportunity to buy a registered, full blood Wagyu bull. To breed with some quality angus heifers.

My question is: why aren't more folks breeding Wagyu? I've never lost money in the stock market, because I buy stocks that I think are undervalued. It has always paid off. I look at what Wagyu has to offer, when it is crossed, and it blows my mind that it hasn't exploded.

I first noticed Wagyu when I was at a fancy restaurant in Nashville, and the price for a steak was $105. They are selling F1 crosses. After doing some research, I see that there are only 40,000 registers Wagyu in the US, compared to more than 330,000 Angus. 90% of Wagyu beef is graded as Prime. Wagyu has more Omega-3 and Omega-6 fatty acids than Salmon. Japan has recently restricted imports of embryos and semen to the US, while their exports of beef have increased 200%. When you have an F1 Wagyu/Angus cross, you get the best of both genetics. Don't forget the low birth weights. I'm sure most of you can read between the lines of what my point is...

A buddy of mine sent me pictures of Wagyu beef at a butcher shop from Pensacola. It was imported from Australia and selling $43/pound for filet mignon and $9/pound of ground beef. There are zero restaurants around my area offering it on the menu.

Why has the US market not ran with this? I see a lot of potential, personally. Just curious....

This might be of interest.

https://www.progressivecattle.com/topics/reproduction/the-best-of-both-worlds-crossbreeding-angus-and-wagyu

bird dog said:
This might be of interest.

https://www.progressivecattle.com/topics/reproduction/the-best-of-both-worlds-crossbreeding-angus-and-wagyu

This reinforces my point. What am I missing?