Tagging new calves

Help Support CattleToday:

Highpoint

Reaction score
My name should have been the caregiver instead high point We now have six calves and only three are tagged thanks to the cow hand. This is my first year and I have wondered why the tags. Right now it is impossible to tell who is exactly the mom of two of them because two nurse the same cow. Can you share with this newby why this is so important.

I'm hoping no question is too stupid.

It's only important if it's important to you.
We tag all, including all the feeders we buy for ease of identification and record keeping.
Otherwise tracking who was treated or pulling for treatment or even just sorting is so very difficult.

If you only have a dozen it should be easy to identify them from memory, but apparently you already can't tell them apart.
Maybe if you get a scale you could identify them by size
ie the Red calf is 200 lbs heavier than the Black calf. :)

Mostly because if you have good calves, you want to know which cow raised them so you keep her heifers.. Likewise for the one that doesn't raise good calves, you can get rid of her... Doesn't need to be anything fancy, you can go a bit smaller than the "Maxi" size tags.. It's just recordkeeping... and being able to indicate to someone else what cow you're referring to... If they are all black, how are you going to tell someone to get "Bessie"... a tag fixes that problem.. get #32

No question is too stupid. And I agree with the above. We tag all calves day 1 or 2 when they're still easy to catch for proper identification and diligent tracking/record keeping. If it's important to you have you conveyed that to your cowhand?

Some fool runs off the road, drives thru your fence, you have to round up cows and calves at 3 a.m. How do you know if you have the paired back up without tags ? How do you know who is missing ?

Like said above, You have a calf that doesn't grow out as good as it should, how do you know which cow is not providing ?