Hay Rakes / What Brand?

Help Support CattleToday:

mrvictordomino

Reaction score
I currently have an old NH 258 rolabar rake and was considering getting a v-twin type rake.
I am losing some help for this coming season and have seen some working in the field that looks to save allot of time.
Is there a brand or model that you folks prefer over another?
Thanks,
DM

I borrowed a kuhn gryo rake. I said if ever I buy another rake, I would like one. I had an old finger rake,4 wheel 2 pt. It was a disaster. It didn't really rake and it broke the teeth which are a pain to replace. I have no experience with the v rakes you are asking about. I have read that they pick up a lot of trash. While viewing a presentation on Ky forage & grassland's web, a fellow had made and installed some plastic pieces 1/2 inch longer than the rake teeth about every 4th tooth. It had solved the problem with the trash so they could satisfy their horse customers.

I did the same thing you are doing about 16 years ago buying a Gehl 8 wheel V-rake. They have made alot of improvements on them since then. The cheap style like I have has a straight frame assembly paraelle to the ground that the wheels are mounted to and passes the hay underneath the frame after it leaves the wheels, sometimes this can cause bunching problems with hay getting lodged between the frame and the ground. Some newer rakes have a high clearence frame that goosenecks upward inbetween the wheels to prevent this problem, I have seen this on the Khuns. Frontier rakes look just like mine. Eventhough, I still would never go back to the New Holland Rollerbar, my V-rake has been very low maintenance and a huge time saver. The large V-rakes that the commercial producers use have the wheels set to the inside of the frame and the hay never passes between the frame and the ground but you are looking at a whole another price catagory, a friend of mine has a 22 wheel Rowse that is around $25,000.

mrvictordomino":14qelbqp said: