Yearling Bull on the Run

Help Support CattleToday:

LM Farm

Reaction score
Transported a Scottish Highland yearling bull to a holding farm to be halter broke and handled. Bought him to be my "bull in waiting". After spending hours getting him settled at my sisters farm we departed only to be called back after dark. He jumped the enclosure (4ft high tensil w/electric) and is now roaming thousands of acres of very wooded pulp&paper property. I had a pattern on his movements (no sighting) and was bringing him to a grain pile nightly. A week of rain and alot of flooding kept us out of the wilderness for a week (roads closed). Any ideas on re capturing this bull? I have no experience, did not even know he was capable of launching 550lbs over a fence without a running start.

My Longhorns as a rule aren't wild and unruly but I haven't seen one yet that couldn't get out if they wanted to. I've had them jump a 5 or 6 foot fence when they wanted to. You may have to track him down and shoot him with a tranquilizer gun to get him. Good luck.

Can you hire some "cowboys" to rope him from horseback? Wha have had to do this before with cattle that have gotten out.

Could you set up a temporary pen out of panels and feed him in that pen? You could set it up with some sort of a trip wire like a hog trap?

Will he come within eye shot if you call him to feed?

Sorry to hear about your bull... :cry:

When you can, try baiting him with range cubes or something he likes and herd him into a temporary corral (i.e. portable corral panels). However, this may well not work!

The tranquilizer approach seems the most realistic due to the vastness of the area he is in.