worming question

Help Support CattleToday:

Holmesfarm":1bb7wu16 said:
want to worm the cattle, Is Ivomec pour on safe to use on bred cows and calfs as young as 3 months?

Editing that out. Sorry, that was kind of snarky. And after I just got finished telling somebody not to be embarrassed for asking obvious questions.

May I suggest reading the label to be sure?

Holmesfarm":11buk45a said:
want to worm the cattle, Is Ivomec pour on safe to use on bred cows and calfs as young as 3 months?

Yes, but I would like to qualify that answer as being straight Ivomec - not Ivomec Plus, which I have no experience with. We've used it on pregnant cows, and I've used it on bottle/bucket (just for you, hillsdown :lol: ) calfs as young as 1 week old with no problems. You just need to make sure you read the directions, and use the correct dosage.

My vet says that the pour on's are NOT effective on calves. I differ with her opinion somewhat I think they do some good but she is supposed to know more than I do..but who doesn't. She recommended either injectable or paste.........

I'm not a vet, nor have I stayed at a Holiday Inn Express lately, But I do have to wonder......wonder why pour on would not work on young calves?

It is simply a poison that is delivered via skin contact...so i have to ask...what the difference would be?

vet give an explanation why it wont work? :cboy:

Medic24":31mz7fk1 said:
I'm not a vet, nor have I stayed at a Holiday Inn Express lately, But I do have to wonder......wonder why pour on would not work on young calves?

It is simply a poison that is delivered via skin contact...so i have to ask...what the difference would be?

vet give an explanation why it wont work? :cboy:

Momma has a tendency to lick it off!