worming during timed AI

Help Support CattleToday:

mtnhunter

Reaction score
Can cattle be wormed anytime during the timed AI protocol? Since you have to get them up three times I would like to worm and vaccinate during one of those times each year. Newbie here and any info appreciated.

Vaccinate 30 days before AI date at least 21 so they can cycle once before breeding. Not sure about the worming, but if your gonna vaccinate before, then worm at the same time no worries.

There is probably no reason why they can't be wormed during the AI protocol but I personally would not, I'd have all that sorted several weeks before the timed AI. I would not be doing anything that might have them off their game a bit as I want to have them keen and ready to play around and jumping all over each other.
Ken

wbvs58":rqfzmroo said:
There is probably no reason why they can't be wormed during the AI protocol but I personally would not, I'd have all that sorted several weeks before the timed AI. I would not be doing anything that might have them off their game a bit as I want to have them keen and ready to play around and jumping all over each other.
Ken
Agree. The less stress, the better. I try to do everything at least 30 ahead of time.

avoid valbazen during the AI process and 30 days post breeding , I think safgaurd claims to be safe on short pregnancies, I have done it with injectable , and didnt seem to make a difference .

We vac and worm the first time through the chute to insert CIDR's. We have been doing this for about 5 years and average around 65% conception on TAI breeding.

Would you use pour on 30 days prior or when you put them in the chute their first trip?

nobull82":3vwpnbe3 said:
Would you use pour on 30 days prior or when you put them in the chute their first trip?

No, but we won't use pour on at all. You'll get much better results from injectable.

mtnhunter":147zin1g said: