Winter Feeding - moldy bales

Help Support CattleToday:

MCRLLC

Reaction score
I'm getting mixed responses from my local farmers I've been working with so I thought I'd put it to all of you as I'm a beginner and I'll take whatever advice I can gather.

I've got a small grass fed cattle herd (3 - cows, 3 -calves, 1 -bull). Due to all of our rains this year my baling efforts were not very good. I've got 135 small square bales many of which are going to mold because I couldn't get them dried out before baling. I'm going to have to buy additional hay/alfalfa to get through winter, which I've never had to do so I'm at a loss there too.

With the bales I have I've been told just to get rid of (sell or burn) the small square bales I have because the bales might cause abortions if/when they mold. I've also been told to keep the bales and put it out free choice with good hay and the cattle will sort through it so it won't be a waste. Thoughts?

Feed them out after calving to be safest, or before the last trimester I hear is OK too.. for the typical spring calving herds we were told "no moldy hay after christmas".. and the calves and bull can evidently eat it any time.
Before we had a hay shed we had a lot of bad hay, and they ate it all.. Just as with humans, hunger is the best cook.

Welcome to CT too :)

If it's the white spore type of mold it can evidently cause a lot of damage, even to humans (I believe it's called Farmer's Lung) if inhaled in significant amounts. A little mold won't damage the entire bale but if you hit the bale or break it open & see a cloud of white dust I wouldn't feed it & generally the cows won't eat it (like Nesikep said, they will pick thru). We ended up with quite a few bales of moldy alfalfa last year and since it was such a brutal winter rolled it out as bedding.

Welcome & good luck!

Cows will always eat the bedding no matter how good the hay is!