wieght of the calf

Help Support CattleToday:

jrcattleranch

Reaction score
How are you weighting a calf at birth? Do you take a bathroom scale out in the fields and pick up the calf and stand on the scale with the calf and subtract your weight?
interested in how everyone does this.

Love the idea of a weigh tape - looked into it but haven't found one accurate enough for a birth weight. Do you have a website link for one? Thanks.

This is a repost from a older post, I've been doing this for a few years now, it works great.

Alan

Weighing calves thanx pdfangus
by Alan on Sun Mar 22, 2009 7:37 am

Early in the calving season, 3 on the ground so far. But thanks to a post by pdfangus a while ago I do have a great method for weighing calves. This has been posted before but it's just so easy for one person I had to post it again. I have 2-5 foot long section of pipe that screw together, I drilled a hole and put an eye bolt about 2 foot down from one end. Tie the calf (as if I was pretending I was a calf roper ), stick the end of the pipe without the eye bolt in the ground, hang the scale from the eye bolt and lift the calf by the tie. The pipe is used for leverage with very little effort by me. I can tag and give shots and spray navels with the calf tied. What a great system, and another great piece of knowledge learned from this site.

Although, I did wait until the day after the last calf was born (about 24 hrs) to weigh and tag. An 84 lb bull calf. I thought I was wrestling a month old calf as strong as he was. I was glad I caught him while he was sleeping or he may still be running. Won't wait so long next time.

Just thought I would share.

Alan

We've used the bathroom scale before, problem with it is that it only goes up to 300 lbs, which means if you are a big person, you have a limited amount of weight you can add before you top the scale out. It can work though.