Whens it too cold for a new calf to be outdoors?

Help Support CattleToday:

AudreyInMO

Reaction score
Im very new at this...just a couple hours into it. I was given a 2 week old calf whos momma did not accept her. She was a twin. What low temps is she able to tolerate. And what do I do when it gets too cold for her. She is currently in a pen with hay outside. I just put a blanket over the top of it hopin that would help insulate her. Im I just bein an over protective first time momma?

Cold should not be too much of an issue if the calf is 2 weeks old, but it should not be directly exposed to the elements since it is all alone. Cows generate a lot of "body heat" when together, but since your little one is alone it will have a hard time thermo regulating if exposed to direct weather. You really should build some sort of inexpensive shelter, or buy something.

So long as she is dry and has a wind break she should be fine. Both of those things are very important though. She needs dry bedding ~ could just be some hay or straw. How little is she? Sometimes a smaller calf, not necessarily newborn, but smaller due to being a twin, will have difficulty maintaining body temp but at 2 weeks I am thinking that that scare should be over.

She is eating good? Free choice calf feed and water for her aside from bottle?

Good luck and enjoy!

edit ~ I see HD has posted after me.
I would take her advise as I don't have near the experience with winter calves that she does.

How cold are your temps ?

Bottle calves need a lot of bedding and shelter as when it gets really cold they cannot just go to the warm milk bar and help themselves.

hillsdown":3v58rrpc said:
How cold are your temps ?

Bottle calves need a lot of bedding and shelter as when it gets really cold they cannot just go to the warm milk bar and help themselves.
Shouldn't be too bad yet HD, looks like she lives in Missouri.