What to do with Bull

Help Support CattleToday:

Stepper

Reaction score
After reading the post about "bull starting to challange me" I am having to rethink my plan's with my bull.

I have him in a dry lot right next to my heifer's right now. He dont seem agressive or anything like that. He kind of run's up to me when i go in the pen to feed him everyday. Sometime's i will kick at him if he get's closer than i feel comfrontable with. But as soon as his feed hit's the feeder he is pretty content. He is a black angus by the way.

Now i am a hobby farmer. I have 9 heifer's that weigh i guess about 700 lb's average weight right now. I am planing on moving them to pasture sometime in April. I am not going to put my bull with them until at least May, perferriably June. I had planned on keeping him where he is until then. But now after hearing about Alan's bull getting agressive by taking his ladie's away from him. I am afraid that might happen to my bull.

My neighbor just bought 11 heifer's that are calfving right now and he does not have a bull at this time. And i think he might let me put my bull with them for a few week's. He has kind of hinted at that. But i really did not want to do that for various reasons. The main reason being from what i have read about a bull getting some type of desease. Any good opinion's or advice as to what i should do would be greatly apprechaited.

Stepper":3ikmr9eq said:
But now after hearing about Alan's bull getting agressive by taking his ladie's away from him. I am afraid that might happen to my bull.