What percent Remedy should I use for leaf spraying mesquite

Help Support CattleToday:

Echo

Reaction score
I'm new to treating mesquite and still figuring out how to deal with it. I got some Remedy to do leaf spraying on individual plants that are around our property in north central Texas. Reading on the TAMU brush busters website, it says 0.5% Remedy and 0.5% Reclaim in water with surfactant for leaf spraying. Is Reclaim really necessary? Will Remedy by itself work? If so, is 0.5% (2/3 of an ounce per gallon of water) Remedy enough or should I use a higher percentage? Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks!

You are looking at an older version of the brush busters. Not they want you to use Sendero. Reclaim definitely helps but you can do without. It is a restricted herbicide that a lot of folks can't buy and that is one of the reasons they developed Sendero which is unrestricted.

Now back to your question, use at least 1%. With straight remedy, water and surf, I would bump it up to about 2%. Soak each leaf of the tree to where it is just starting to drip off. Check them again in a couple weeks and get the ones that are missed or or that still look real strong. Good luck.

Echo,

Not what you asked but, why not do a basal treatment?
Less chemical is needed.

my 2 :2cents:
Farmgirl

bird dog said:
You are looking at an older version of the brush busters. Not they want you to use Sendero. Reclaim definitely helps but you can do without. It is a restricted herbicide that a lot of folks can't buy and that is one of the reasons they developed Sendero which is unrestricted.

Now back to your question, use at least 1%. With straight remedy, water and surf, I would bump it up to about 2%. Soak each leaf of the tree to where it is just starting to drip off. Check them again in a couple weeks and get the ones that are missed or or that still look real strong. Good luck.