What breed of bull do I have?

Help Support CattleToday:

Reaction score
Hello,

I just located this board and I am fairly new to raising cattle. I have always wondered what breed of bull I have. Some people call him a Red Angus and other call him a Red Limo mix. I am trying to attach a picture but if that does not work here is the details. He is about 2 years old and 1200.lbs. He has very short stubby horns that are loose and a bump between them. He predominantly red with a little area of white hair on the base of his belly. What do ya think?

Bob2.jpg

Damon, seriously, sell that bull and buy one with a known pedigree. The price difference between the two won't be much. Just my respectful opinion.

ga. prime":141ddiyr said:
Damon, seriously, sell that bull and buy one with a known pedigree. The price difference between the two won't be much. Just my respectful opinion.

AGREE, get the heck rid of him while slaughter prices are high and go buy yourself a bull that you know for sure what is... if you buy a purebred Red Angus or Black Anugs bull you could source verify or AnguSource the calves and get an extra few $$$ for them....

I really don't think there is any Angus in him. I would say there is Shorthorn in him. If I could see his rear end it may convince me that there is Limousin in him.
If he has OK hindquarters and is quiet and you are selling the offspring off I probably would use him.
Good on you for wanting to learn everyone has to start somewhere.
Colin

Thanks for all the replys.

This bull has an excellent temper that is why he would be hard to replace. I did breed this bull to 2 cows I have and will see what size calves he throws. They are due in 3 weeks. One cow is a black Angus and the other is an old Hereford.

Thanks,

Damon K. Rapozo":35vriwzm said:
He is about 2 years old and 1200.lbs. He has very short stubby horns that are loose

First off, welcome to this wealth of information and put downs :D