Vermeer 5410 Rebel or New Holland BR740

Help Support CattleToday:

pricefarm

Reaction score
Thinking of trading up to a newer hay roller which one would you choice? I currently have a older i series vermeer. There are good dealers locally for both brands. I will be pulling it with a 6610 ford and a lot of my hay ground is steep I have always heard Vermeers are easyier to pull?

pricefarm":sn5d0c3u said:
Thinking of trading up to a newer hay roller which one would you choice? I currently have a older i series vermeer. There are good dealers locally for both brands. I will be pulling it with a 6610 ford and a lot of my hay ground is steep I have always heard Vermeers are easyier to pull?

I have no experience with either but I have always been partial to NH haying equip

I am in the process of buying a nh 740. I havent personally ran one but have a neighbor who bought a 740a last year and he is real pleased with it. I looked at the vermeer when shopping and it looks like a good machine. One thing i like about the nh over the verneer is the nh has a wider pickup and from my understanding thats not a option on a rebel. Im hoping to get mine picked up this week, it was used with around 10,000 rolls on it and had to have a few things fixed on it. One thing to check on the nh is the sledge roller frame, the belts tend to track to one side or the other and wear against it and over time itll wear it in half. Everything i read said the fix for this was to weld the groove and sand it back smooth, sounds crazy i know but thats what nh recommends that from my understanding.

pricefarm":11l6nbkq said: