vaccines

Help Support CattleToday:

xbred

Reaction score
how does my typical cattle working protocal compare to yours? just asking to see if i'm missing anything, or over doing anything.... calves born november and december..1 March...castrate, tip, (brand, tatoo few registred hd.); ear tag...give all cattle cattlemaster4+vl5 2 doses 4 weeks apart; 2 doses ultrabac 8 4 weeks apart; pour-on dewormer... 2 June provide fly tags and another dose of dewormer....3 July gather and fly spray, begin to wean/precondition calves.. give all calves Bovi-shield gold fp 5 lp5 followed up 3 weeks later with bovi-shield brsv...... 4 august sell comercial calves....September gather cattle, pregnancy test, remove fly tags, apply dewormer and id tags.

Why vaccinate with Cattlemaster, Ultra-bac and Bovi-shield Gold in the same year? I have no first hand knowledge of Cattlemaster or Ultra-bac, but I believe they are a broad spectrum vaccination. I am familiar with Bovi-shield Gold, as we used it for many years. I'm assuming that the Ultra-bac/Cattlemaster brings something to the table that Bovi-shield does not, so why just vaccinate for that individual disease instead of duplicating? We dewormed only twice a year, but our area is not as hot and wet as yours so we didn't have the parasite problems that you probably have because of that. We also castrated a bit earlier, but our calving season was March and April, and I don't know what your winters are like. Our calves were eartagged at birth(within a few days of birth) with their mother's number, then the replacement heifers were retagged at a year old. Considering your climate, you might possibly want to look into Scour-guarding your Mom's - it sure saved us a lot of time, trouble, and sick calves. Other than that, seems like you have a good program.