Two of my Heifers pictures

Help Support CattleToday:

herofan

Reaction score
Ok, I'm a newbie who has been here a few weeks and thought I would post a couple of pictures of my heifers for your critique. I have 16 heifers. They were purchased from the sale barn in December, and I don't know their exact age, but believe the herd is 8-10 months old. There are two pictures of red and one of a random Angus. What do you think? Do they look healthy? (I probably seem like a newbie at photography too :lol: )

IMG_0314.JPG

IMG_03201.JPG

IMG_0337.JPG

Thanks. With 128 views and only two replies, I was thinking I had either posted this in the wrong place, or they looked so bad that nobody wanted to comment.

I hope you are planning on breeding them to something pretty powerful with a ton of muscle.

herofan":3om3umss said:
3waycross":3om3umss said:
I hope you are planning on breeding them to something pretty powerful with a ton of muscle.

Why do you say that?

Although they look healthy, they are certainly not good beefy specimens. That doesn't mean they won't make productive cows, they just need the right kind of bull.

KNERSIE":18ccoxui said:
herofan":18ccoxui said:
3waycross":18ccoxui said:

Why do you say that?

Although they look healthy, they are certainly not good beefy specimens. That doesn't mean they won't make productive cows, they just need the right kind of bull.

Interesting. They are beef cows, so what is it about them that is not a good beef specimen? What can i do to change that?

They are very light muscled, very light boned, the red one has very little spring of rib, not nearly enough depth or capacity and has a reverse wedge. The black one is overall the better one, more depth, more capacity, weak loin and no muscle.

Not much you can do about their faults, but correct them on their calves by using a really good bull strong in all the areas these heifers need help in.

3waycross":3hqc9ws2 said: