two cow deaths

Help Support CattleToday:

A

Anonymous

I am fairly new to the cattle business. I own around 115 acres of land that is divided into a 43 acre plot and a 72 acre plot. They do not touch there is about a mile seperating the two pieces. On February 7, 2003 my husband discovered a cow down on the 72acres. He got her up, called a vet--he said to keep her warm and dry and see if she makes it--did that she lived two days and died on feb. 9,2003 with calf still inside her. Today Feb. 18, 2003 as we were going over the 43 acres we discovered two cows down. One dead with calfhoves hanging out about 2 inches and the other about dead had given birth last week sometime inbetween the 10th and the 14th. We got her up after 7 hours of trying and she is now in the barn eating, but not paying much attention to her calf who is in the stall next to her. Could there be any connection in the deaths? Both were about to give birth with one trying, they had not eaten hay cut from the same fields and were not of the same breed. Just call me worried but I don't like losing any of my cows especially (you could say) 4 within 10 days of eachother.

[email protected]

> I am fairly new to the cattle
> business. I own around 115 acres
> of land that is divided into a 43
> acre plot and a 72 acre plot. They
> do not touch there is about a mile
> seperating the two pieces. On
> February 7, 2003 my husband
> discovered a cow down on the
> 72acres. He got her up, called a
> vet--he said to keep her warm and
> dry and see if she makes it--did
> that she lived two days and died
> on feb. 9,2003 with calf still
> inside her. Today Feb. 18, 2003 as
> we were going over the 43 acres we
> discovered two cows down. One dead
> with calfhoves hanging out about 2
> inches and the other about dead
> had given birth last week sometime
> inbetween the 10th and the 14th.
> We got her up after 7 hours of
> trying and she is now in the barn
> eating, but not paying much