Tips to judging a cows age

Help Support CattleToday:

chiefgriz

Reaction score
There has been a couple of ads in the paper where people are selling off their herd. I figure that most have taken their 1st and maybe 2nd culls to the sell already. I am thinking about going to look to find a couple. With no improvement on the drought condition, I'm thinking there might be some good cattle up for grabs. Bred cows anywhere from 5 to 7 months are becoming avalible for about $675. I would like to get (obviously) a good young cow to have for a few years. With the price of steers and heifers, I could recoop the original price of the cow once the calves are weaned and sold. Does this seem to be a legitamite plan? Also, when I look for these cows, what are the best indicators on calculating a cows age. I've seen some cattle that look poor because of being underfed, but I dont want to confuse that with age. So there it is Guru's. How about the top 3 age indicators?

Cheif, i'm not good at guessing age. what i look for is if she has any teeth. now this isnt the best age test cause lose of teeth can be due to a few factors. one beening the soil type they graze in. sandy soil will erode the teeth faster. i look for teeth to make sure she'll be able to chew enough to supplement for her and the calf.
i have a very different oparation than most. I buy 10{the very least} heavy bred cows. when they drop i put another calf on them. i sell all 30 head at one time when the calves has weined. then i buy 10 more bred cows so on so on. i do pretty well this way. i have no bull to keep up. and i stay on top of the market. i can switch with market when it does. at $675 your calf should cover your buy in price if you sell at weined age. this week 550lbs calves where branging $700. good luck in what ever you decide.