this is what I feed mine?

Help Support CattleToday:

leisurlee

Reaction score
I am a novice in the cattle business. I have three cows (1 steer and 2 Heifers) bought them in May at about 325 lbs each they are a cross bred short horn so I 'm told. I am just trying this for the first time a friends and freezer thing. They are contained in a 8 acre pasture, just dropped a round bale of hay from McCracken, I also have an old truck bed trailer with cap that I go to the Chattanooga Oklahoma CO-OP and purchase their bulk creep feed, I use a 5 gallon bucket to feed them. So they have free choice hay, I feed them a five gallon bucket of the feed daily and they also have free choice mineral and a few of the compressed mineral licks in the field and they have access to good water. I have a neighbor that helps with the vaccinations, tagging and other thing (helped band the bull calf). I am in the Cache Oklahoma area. Any input from those close would be greatly appreciated.

Leisurlee

Welcome!
Like Jeanne, I'm not too close to you either, but you've come to a good place to look for info.
Tell us more about your feed, and just so I understand, you have all 3 of these animals with the intention of feeding them out for beef, correct?

sounds like they are feeding 7 or 8lbs a hd plus free choice hay.an whatever grazing there is.

The feed is a combination of cracked corn, cotton seed hulls, molasses and some sort of pellet an I may have left something out, it is listed on the feed board as 14% protein. I only feed the grain in the evening after I get home, it ran in December from the CO-OP $165.00 a ton, $40.00 a round bale. They are being feed for beef, I have all 6 sides reserved.

Do you have any idea how much they weigh now? Could you post a picture?
If, they have been gaining #2/day, you have had them about 8 months, so they should weigh about 800#??