Texas Longhorns

Help Support CattleToday:

NHlonghorns

Reaction score
Anyone raise Longhorns? I'm new to cattle but we recently bought 3 bred and registered longhorns. All three calved with no problems and are excellent mothers. 2 heifers and a bull (who is now a steer). I'm really enjoying this little herd and was curious to hear your thoughts on this breed.
:cowboy:

There is a few breeders on here. I have a small sprinkling of them myself. Welcome to the board. I never really thought about it, but longhorns might be a good place to start in the cattle business. Very few of the physical ailments that accompany most cattle.

I have a couple friends who raise them, both in opposite ends. One, doesnt want to mind his cattle and can pick them up cheap at the sale so if he loses one its no biggie. They live on air. The other friend went the registered route and made quite a bit selling as pasture ornaments.
In a ranchers point of view, i dont want any sign of them in my cattle. Take a nice calf to the sale and it shows it has longhorn you lose money on it. But, if you cant tend to you cattle daily, you'll have less calving troubles and they can live off bad pastures and very little hay. Have a untended herd of angus, lose a calf its a big loss, dont lose any in the same number of longhorn and you've caught up to the same size angus herd that lost a calf..... My daughter has one as a pet and she calved a little heifer this spring. It was born standing up..lol...faster than lightning, can hide in a flat open pasture..
My husbands family had a longhorn way back in the 70's. It was a roping calf. It got mixed up in the early herd and its taken 40 years to wash it out of our cows today. I bet i have pictures somewhere of a skunk tailed calf out of the blue many years later. lol