Taxes???

Help Support CattleToday:

dbc

Reaction score
I'm not really sure how cows help with taxes. I am still a student so it doesn't really affect me, but i was just curious. For example i saw where someone put buying hay was 100% tax deductable. What else is deductable and how does it work? Any answers would be appreciated.

Quick answer - (not a hobby) Any income derived from the activity is offset with expenses that are related to generating that income.

This is a very generic answer to an issue that is very complicated.

One of the biggest tax breaks is on your property taxes. Also you can depreciate big expenses like tractors, trailers, equipment,and barns, ect. All livestock related expenses such as feed, vet, meds, pasture improvement, hay, fencing, ect. I actually started our taxes last night, it takes me a couple nights to get all the receipts sorted out and categorized.

You are exactly right on property taxes. With the ag exemption, you don't have to make an awful lot of nickels on cattle to come out way ahead on property tax. Especially when they want to appraise your property at $12K an acre. If not for ag exemptions, we'd go broke/sellout.

sidney411":2dlc48bj said:
One of the biggest tax breaks is on your property taxes. Also you can depreciate big expenses like tractors, trailers, equipment,and barns, ect. All livestock related expenses such as feed, vet, meds, pasture improvement, hay, fencing, ect. I actually started our taxes last night, it takes me a couple nights to get all the receipts sorted out and categorized.

That's why I love Quicken its a great program and makes tax prep easy as printing out a report. I also keep all the paper end of it just filed in a monthly file so if I need the hard copy I only have to search one months worth of reciepts.

Sorry for he sales pitch but its a great program.
Alan

dbc":1ctkj33v said: