success with AI?

Help Support CattleToday:

A

Anonymous

What is the success rate with AI? I've got a black simmental cow, and had her inseminated with angus semen. What are the chances that she'll take? Is there a pretty good success rate with AI?

Also, about the price. The guy who did this charged 10 bucks for the semen and 20 bucks for his work. Is that a decent price?

It almost seems like it would be easier to deal with having our cows inseminated every year than to mess with having a bull. Are there drawbacks to having cows inseminated versus having "mother nature" take it's course?

Thanks for all your insight and answers. I'm a beginner here, so I love all the information I've been helped with.

rwhite

[email protected]