Student Performance

Help Support CattleToday:

Sure all of those kids are failing now but i wouldnt be surprised if those teachers some how gave out enough extra credit to get them to a passing grade. :roll: I think they should let the kids fail and repeat and stop making it easy to get their grade back up. I graduated from high school a year back and had a 4.0 but I had alot of friends who would be sitting at 40s at the midterms and somehow get a 70 to pass and I guarantee they didnt work any harder.

Another problem is how hard it is to fire a teacher now and these days (I'm not meaning any of those teachers out there on this board) but we have all seen those teachers that let anything fly by. They aren't helping anyone.

Angus/Brangus":2xfz703s said:
School atheletes should not be given any more slack than a non-athelete. Teachers that doctor the grades should be tossed.

Grades are important as a measure progress and level of performance. Yes, there are a few kids that are very bright but don't do well in a school setting but too bad, IMHO - -send them to private school. If they can't handle school, how will they handle living in society?

Todays younger teachers are excellent!! The sad fact is that we have a lot of irresponsible parents who want the teachers to parent their children as well. And when things aren't working out, they blame the educational system. Go figure that one!! Parents need to be involved daily in their childrens education and if they don't then, they have NO right to complain.
You got backwards. The problem is that everyone assumes it is the students fault, or the parents fault. The teachers or school are never held responsable. The school will always back the teacher. They are getting payed to do a job. They get payed weather they do it or not. They have the kids a lot more at school than you do at home yet it is the fault of the parent if anything is wrong. Teachers cater to the good students the others are simply written off.