Stockpiling fescue?

Help Support CattleToday:

Rhune

Reaction score
Last fall I planted a new fescue field (10 acres). I have kept the cows off of it the entire year, letting it grow undisturbed. My plan, was to leave this fescue alone and put the cows on it some time in the fall.

Summer came early and dry months will be the norm for some time. My nice green virgin fescue field is looking kinda ragged. I am worried that if I wait till fall this field will be an uneatable mess.

Not sure what I should do. I could hay it, but I don't have any hay storage left this year. Being a noob, I have a feeling that I am missing the concept of 'stockpiling' and could use some education. Any advice would help.

Thanks in advance!

What does the term "stockpiling fescue" mean and how does one go about doing it?
The term "stockpiled" simply means accumulating early fall growth of tall fescue for grazing at a later time such as in late fall and/or early winter. The advantages of stockpiling are numerous. Allowing cows to harvest their own forage costs 30-50% less than harvesting the forage as hay and feeding it back to them. In addition, nutrients of grazed forages are usually higher than those in stored forages. Several studies have shown properly fertilized stockpiled fescue forage to contain 12-14% protein and 60% or more total digestible nutrients (TDN). In research conducted at the University of Missouri, beef cattle wintering costs were reduced by $100/hd by utilizing a combination of stockpiled tall fescue and hay versus when hay alone was used. To stockpile tall fescue, old seed heads and low quality summer growth should be removed by clipping or close grazing in mid-August to early September. This stimulates new forage growth high in nutrient content. Remove the cows. If weather conditions are favorable, apply 40-80 lbs/ac. nitrogen in late August or early September to optimize fall growth of the fescue.

Douglas":19yi4ar2 said: