steer questions

Help Support CattleToday:

limi chick fitter

Reaction score
this year is my one and only year to show steers.

i wanted to run for tcca points for steers, but i have one steer that i thought could go aob but since i clipped him and what not.. ok he doesnt have any ear or any navel at all to him but his neck is kinda.. american lookin-ish. not a whole lot of neck but some to notice.. and now im new to the neck sweats and crap like that (i've shown heifers for 4 years now) but will a neck sweat help that neck to look not so americanish? i couldnt tell you what breed he is b/c i got him at a sale barn.

also, he's about 500ish pounds right now and i think he could use some height on him. i read somewhere that oats add some growth to em? something like that.. i dont know.

as far as the dewlap.. yes, a sweat collar will help get rid of that extra skin. the calf will still go AOB unless he looks enough like a certain breed that you could run him that way and pass. since you've said he has no ear or naval, he probably will not pass as american (then again.. after seeing some of what passed as american crosses at fort worth and our county show, it might not hurt to give it a try) but even if he was, you still want to clean that neck a little if it looks too untidy.

cowboy13":q312oszk said:
By sale barn, do you mean a local sale? If so, don't waste your time trying to run points with him. Especially with one calf, you're already behind.

Your not that far behind. All shows except one from this past weekend are reporting and #10 AOB steer only has 160 points, that and the fact that this is only the beginning of June, alot of time and alot of shows left to go before the end of the point year.

new to the sweat collar things.. but um.. how long do i leave it on for? so if he has no navel or no ear to him.. but a little neck it'll most likely be aob right?