starting to buy cattle

Help Support CattleToday:

pits4life

Reaction score
I have a gentleman picking my calves out that is real familar with the local sell barns and trust his judgement but when the calves are brought to me should i worm them first ? Also i would appreciate any other advice and tips to better this venture I am new to owning cattle but i have helped with feeding them along time for other people for what that is worth....

Welcome to the board!
I would highly recommend worming, a dose of bovi shield gold 5, and a dose of blackleg Electroid 7 and since they are coming from a sale barn i would give them antibiotics (micotil, Neflour, or draxxin) which ever one i really like draxxin we will run alot of steer and everyone of them will get a antibiotic and i use draxxin it is a little bit expensive but it is worth it! We give them the antibiotics the day they come in and then two days later we worm them and vaccinate them using bovi shield and blackleg.
This is what we do other people use different drugs which is fine i am just giving my two cents in what works for use. Hope this helps and good luck.
Sam

Thanks Cowboy15 for the reply was very helpful and also any suggestions on how to vaccinate without a chute,i am just starting out only have a barn and a little pasture,i thought i could try to do while in the trailer or even get it in the barn and use a wood panel as a squeez and the barn wall i am really open for suggestion that might not stress the calves as much, like i said before i am starting and dont have alot to work with but i am very open minded and very crafty but would love the advice from anyone and possibly that have been in the same scnerio....

There are some things you need to do before the cattle arrive. Obviously fences and water.