squeeze chutes?

Help Support CattleToday:

gertman

Reaction score
I'm going to buy a squeeze chute I'm looking at Powder River, W-W, and Priefert as they are available nearby any cattlemen and cattlewomen got any opinions on these brands?

We just got a Priefert SO4 last month. We have worked our cows one time in it since we got it and we really like it. I looked at the others you mentioned also. One thing about the Powder River XL was all the head knocking levers sticking out. I like the option of using the Priefert gate auto or manual. Like the back gate better.

We have a Powder River XL Manual Chute. The following is my opinion, and I am no expert, but pretend to be at times. :D The man that sold us the chute, sells both Priefert and Powder River, and he handles a lot of cattle. He said that the XL Chute held up really well, and if he were buying one, that would definitely the chute he would purchase. The Value Chute in Powder River is too light. He told us that a man brought back a Priefert not long after he purchased it because a bull bent it up. But I am not sure which Priefert model he was talking about, it could have been a light weight model. We don't have any problems with the handles above since we are not basketball players. We went a couple of times to see the chutes and worked the levers. We are happy with ours. There are a lot of other people that have other brands that are happy with what they bought too. Just get a heavy constructed one so that you won't be disappointed. It cost more to buy a cheaper light weight model, have a bull tear it up, then go back and buy a heavier constructed one.