so confused!!!

Help Support CattleToday:

hog_n_dos

Reaction score
I am still learning about the whole raising cattle thing. I am trying to figure out what to feed my cows for the winter and I have been told and read so many diffrent things! I am looking for just basic info. for someone who knows nothing. (me) I just want to keep my cow and calf healthy. please help, a little advise
:help:

cow - 7 year old pulled herferd (good mama cow) got for breeder
calf 8 mo. still nursing but eating and drinking alot on her own

still have a little dry tall field grass and pasture grass is coming back in green but not any to eat at the moment just a nibble here and there

from one still learning to one still learning:
Vaccinations, talk to a vet
wean now would be good not so healthy on the mother if she is re breed. She needs at least three months to regain BSC, dry up and start creating antibodies for her new calf in her colostrum. Other wise the new calf will suffer.
Free choice mineral and salt to both the calf and cow.
Good nutrition for the calf and cow, the cow needs to get ready to calve again and need the protien to get "the game plan" going.
If she got rebred when she "should" have the pregnancy should be close to 5 1/2 months now.

Just the basics: Wean the calf, good quilty hay, minerals and water for the cow. A little grain for the calf for a couple of weeks (6-8) then back with the cow and the same diet she's getting

Here are a few things I would think about doing:

1. Wean the calf. Give it good feed (eg. calf pellets 18% protein) and hay for 4 to 6 weeks. Then can be put back with the cow but watch that she doesnt try to start sucking again.

2. Get the vet to preg test your cow if you dont know whether she is bred, and give you a rough due date so you are prepared.

3. Make sure vaccinations and wormings are up to date for both of them. Maybe give a mineral supplement as well.