Snake-Proofing your garden

Help Support CattleToday:

Jogeephus

Reaction score
A few years ago I got snakebit picking cucumbers and have had some concerns about the risk of associated with sticking my hands where I can't see them. Last summer my neighbor got bit really bad so I'm reminded again of the risk this can involve. To remedy this, I came across some 16 foot cow panels and decided to use them as a trellis in the garden. I placed 4x4's every 16 feet and hung the panels with staples. To sturdy the centers I placed a T-post and wired it to the panel. Since I didn't set anything more than 2 feet deep the trellis will be easy to remove if need be yet it is plenty sturdy. On top of this, it looks tidy and neat.

Cowpanels are definately the way to go raising cukes. I've been doing it for the past two years and will never go back. I don't like fishing in the plants with snakes around either.

Y'all have me curious. I don't really have to deal with anything other than garter snakes up north, so I don't have to snake proof anything. How does a cattle panel keep snakes out of your garden?

milkmaid":2i638bym said:
Y'all have me curious. I don't really have to deal with anything other than garter snakes up north, so I don't have to snake proof anything. How does a cattle panel keep snakes out of your garden?

It doesn't keep them out but it raises plants like cucumbers off the groud so they don't create a thick ground cover which might conceal something unfriendly. The rest of the garden is pretty easy to see since it is row cultivated. Its possible for one to hide unseen in a row but very unlikely. The worst place in the world to walk around here is a peanut field during the fall of the year. You can't see your feet or ankles and when you invert the nuts you will shortly see how lucky you were several times over.

Jogeephus":2kwb810p said:
milkmaid":2kwb810p said: