Small Calf Issue.

Help Support CattleToday:

Mudge

Reaction score
We've got this calf, and we bought it about month or 2 ago, and its been growing good, but now it's popped up with this random issue.

numbawonra8.png

numbatoocj1.png

Not sure if these photos give you a good enough look at what the problem is.

Patches of skin are missing in random places all of a sudden, around the nose area. the legs.

is this a big problem? or just a minor concern?

Thx For The Help In Advance..

BTW, What Breed Of Cow Is This?

i'm no expert but it sort of looks brown swiss or jersey or a cross of ? just a big time guess.

please no disrespect but the calf is looking like it might need a bit more protien. And maybe some pour on ivermec or such for deowrming.

what are you feeding him? and how much milk?

We have two bottle babies. we had three but found a momma for her.
the milk replacer we use is 20/20/20. % of each fat protien and can't remember. As well they are on calf starter it is a grain especially formulated for babies.
We tried to skimp to the cheap milk replacer and noticed a difference in the coat, shape and health of the calves before 1/2 a bag was gone.
It was either MSSCamp or Alice or many another knowledgeable baby raiser who said steers need more protien than heiffers. The were right.
A guy at the local co-op suggested we get some soymeal from feedrite and mix in the milk or grain. Adds the extra fat they need. Seeems how we have cut the bottle and they are eating the grain real well we have started to add it to their grain and they go nuts for it.

edit...possibly the loss of the hair could be due to lackof protien...just a guess but i would not rule out the dewormer just in case.