six month old calf

Help Support CattleToday:

Lenny

Reaction score
Hi ya-all. New here but have been reading your-alls post for about 6 months. Fascinating stuff. Have learned a lot just listening. A little backround. Last spring I bought two heifer calves from a very nice 82 year old lady who swears by Hereford. Then she gave me a great deal on a heifer that was part jersey. I guess she was just trying to clean up her herd. I am new to cattle but she explained it was the mother was bred with a jersey to make the first calf easier. Sounds good to me. I bought it anyway. Now I have two Herefords and a hereford/jersey cross. A neighbor let me borrow an angus bull in sept. after he was finished with him. Said the cross would make nice calves. This I suppose is true as well. The deal got even better as one day in october I noticed a young calf staggering around the field. Turns out the hereford/jersey cross was bred when I got her. Calf was very healthy and six months went by with calf doing well. Friday I came home and the calf couldn't get up. Appeared to be hurt and not sick. Head was up and looked good but couldn't stand up. Today though is laying on side but still sucks water from bottle but not looking good. Called the vet and she said it sounds like the calf was beat up and may have some internal trauma. I will probably shoot this calf when I get home from church. Last few days has been very tough as we and the kids were attached to the first calf. (I know. Ano-no to the traditional farmer/rancher). If we are going to continue this venture we need to toughen up. I guess my question is, how could a six month old healthy calf get beat up in small heard like that. And I guess my real question is, was it that damn bull and should the bull have been seperated after I was satisfied that the heifers were bred. I kept him through the winter in return for borrowing him. Owner supplied the hay. Another sweet deal until now at least. Any one with some advise. Thanks