Simmental Milk EPD

Help Support CattleToday:

kentuckyguy

Reaction score
I am new to breeding Simmentals and can't help but notice how many bulls have horrible milk EPD's.

Seems like about every bull I want to use ends up with a milk EPD in the bottom 95% of the breed.

Are the daughters out of bulls with a low milk EPD milking good? Lots of breeders are using these bulls extensively so I can't help but think it's not really reliable.

Seems there would have to be some justification for a bull that's been used 4-5 years that has a low milk EPD but I may be wrong.

I don't follow it much. I find milk is highly dependent on the cows nutrition or lack there of. I can honestly say that I haven't had a cow that didn't have enough milk, but, have had a few with to much.

I myself aren't using or buying a bull that reads under 19 on milk, I prefer to keep everything between 20 - 25. I agree lots of the stud bulls have low milk epd, so many must not care.

Someone asked me about this the other day and the only conclusion we could come up with is that maybe the milk is a higher quality and they don't require as much of it. No idea if that's right just a thought.

WinterSpringsFarm said:
I don't follow it much. I find milk is highly dependent on the cows nutrition or lack there of. I can honestly say that I haven't had a cow that didn't have enough milk, but, have had a few with to much.

I have had a couple angus cows that didn't milk and it sucks. You end up taking a beating on a cull cow and have a stunted calf.
I haven't ran into it with any Simmentals yet but the lowest milk EPD cow I have right now is 18.

I see lots of bulls I would like to use but with a milk EPD of 10-14 I worry about having problems or even worse selling someone a problem.

We had Simmental-influenced cattle since 1984... never had one that didn't have plenty of milk.