sick calf

Help Support CattleToday:

newby

Reaction score
My daughter brought home a 6 week old calf. Born to a sick cow in the field, the farmer was letting it die. Sounds like she had either very little or no colostrum as the cow had not produced milk.The kids carried it to the horse barn on the property and put her in a stall. She's been drinking milk replacer, then last week she came down with pneumonia. The kids got Baytril? for her, however the lady at the barn gave it sub-Q. When she first got to my basement, her temp was 92.4 via rectal digital ( human thermometer). We gave her a total of 2000 cc IV lactated ringers and 0.9% normal saline and 6 ml of IV Baytril. Got her temp up to 99. She has diarrhea, which my daughter describes as " jelly like." I'm a paramedic, not a farmer or vet. I'm giving it my best shot here, but is there anything else I can be doing for her? She's not quite as dehydrated after the fluid bolus, but she's not standing on her own and hasn't for 2 days. Drank maybe a pint of milk replacer today.

newby":2dlign21 said:
My daughter brought home a 6 week old calf. Born to a sick cow in the field, the farmer was letting it die. Sounds like she had either very little or no colostrum as the cow had not produced milk.

At this stage of the game, there is nothing you can do about the deficiency/lack of colostrum. But, be aware that if this calf did not get colostrum, it's going to be an uphill battle to keep him/her healthy.