Sick Calf ASAP Please

Help Support CattleToday:

Hereford2

Reaction score
Hi, I bought a week old Angus/Char calf off my neighbor, he had clostrum,. The cow didn't have much milk is why he pulled him off. Anytime he takes a calf off of the cow he gives them 2 doses of Draxxin 2 days apart, otherwise he said they tend to get peumonia and die. Anyway he gave me 4 doses of Draxxin in case I needed them. Last night they calf was sounding stuffy, so I gave him 1ml Draxxin he probably weighs 70 pounds. This morning he drank his bottle super slow and he sounds worse. I've never used Draxxin before, because it costs $800 for 100ml bottle. Then I looked up Draxxin and it says it lasts for 2 weeks... In a calf's system.. (should have looked it up sooner I know). Any suggestions for the calf? Is he having a bad reaction to so many doses of Draxxin in a week's time? Does he need a different antibiotic? I gave him probiotics. His poop looks fine.

Hi, I bought a week old Angus/Char calf off my neighbor, he had clostrum,. The cow didn't have much milk is why he pulled him off. Anytime he takes a calf off of the cow he gives them 2 doses of Draxxin 2 days apart, otherwise he said they tend to get peumonia and die. Anyway he gave me 4 doses of Draxxin in case I needed them. Last night they calf was sounding stuffy, so I gave him 1ml Draxxin he probably weighs 70 pounds. This morning he drank his bottle super slow and he sounds worse. I've never used Draxxin before, because it costs $800 for 100ml bottle. Then I looked up Draxxin and it says it lasts for 2 weeks... In a calf's system.. (should have looked it up sooner I know). Any suggestions for the calf? Is he having a bad reaction to so many doses of Draxxin in a week's time? Does he need a different antibiotic? I gave him probiotics. His poop looks fine.
No more antibiotics. He's glowing.
Try some Recover antihistamine and Banamine. Maybe some vitamin B.