Show calves

Help Support CattleToday:

TXBobcat

Reaction score
I aksed this question in another topic, but I will start a new topic and expand on the question a little. The reason I'm asking these questions is because I got a call the other day from a women wanting to buy a hefier (Longhorn) for her 11 yr old daughter to show in a local county show (Texas). They are new to the show world it appears because she said it would be her daughter's first project. I am also new to the show world and am not sure what people on the show circuit are looking for. Although I don't plan on showing our cattle myself (because of time), I do think it is a good way to market your herd.

Do show heifiers/steers have to be registered with a breed association before they can be shown in Texas county shows, or shows such as Houston, Ft. Worth, etc?

What age animals are usually bought for showing?

If you're talking about a junior showing, it depends on where they want to show! The individual county shows have their own rules, but generally the heifers have to be registered, the steers don't.

When you get to the big shows.. Ft. Worth, San Antonio, Houston, that's a whole different deal. The best way to be sure is to talk to the extension agent or ag teacher.

In our county, you can't show longhorns in conjunction with 4H events or the county fair. They are afraid of what the horns could do. Also, most longhorns will never stack up to an Angus or Charolais at the county fair. Completely different body types. My recommendation is that they look for what shows well in your area and buy that. If they just love the longhorns and really want to show longhorns, they need to buy registered stock from someone who is successful in showing and show it at a registered longhorn show. The TLBAA publishes a show schedule. http://www.tlbaa.org/calendar.html

lazyhill":38zp89k5 said:
The TLBAA publishes a show schedule. http://www.tlbaa.org/calendar.html