Should I buy or not?

Help Support CattleToday:

Circle G

Reaction score
I found a rancher close to our place that has angus calves for sale. He said they have not been vaccinated because he never keeps them that long. He is selling them for about $300 each and they weigh about 300 pounds. I was thinking about buying some and keeping them until they get to about 600 or 700 pounds and selling them. I have 8 brangus cows right now and plenty of room for some more. I thought I might be able to make a few bucks and get a little practice at the auction.

What do y'all think about this? I am not sure why the guy would sell off his calves that young unless he just doesn't want to mess with them or doesn't have the acreage. I am a beginner at all this and just a little skeptical I guess.

Having not seen the calves I wouldn't want to advise you. But if they are decent, growthy calves, $300 for 300 pound calves is certainly under the market value. I wouldn't worry too much about the lack of vaccinations. You can either give that to them as soon as you get them home or stop at a vet on the way home and get the shots you want.

IMO, it's good to be skeptical. :) It sounds like this MIGHT be a good opportunity for you. Are the calves weaned? We vaccinate our calves about two weeks before we wean them, then "boost" them the day we wean. If they're still on the cows, would he agree to let you do that?

Do you know what similar quality calves sell for at your sale barn? How about the heavier weight calves at the sale barn?

or you could be buyin a bunch of future pot bellied pigmys that wouldnt grow off for love ner money. what do his adult cattle look like? that 300.00 might be a slow to return.

Give me his phone # and let me look at them I will let you know if I think it is a good buy after looking at them but don't be suprised if you never here back from me because I will be on my way home with them