Share EPD expertise on a black bull yearling?

Help Support CattleToday:

Gators Rule

Reaction score
For those experts on the topic of EPDs, I was at a local county fair, and saw a very nice looking 13 month old PB Simmental bull, and I can't say I have seen a young bull who has more eye appeal than this young fellow. Lots of question marks on his EPDs though. I would like to get some input from the gallery on this. Especially on the CE, BW, Milk, and DOC...

The only problem I can see with those numbers is the DOC being at the very bottom.
Since he's PB, and I guess you would be looking at keeping replacement, the cow's numbers would weigh pretty heavy for me.

Do you know his actual BW?
What's his pedigree like?

epd accuracy from .16 - .27 = epds of little value
docility 1.8 is in bottom 1% for the breed and would make him a no go for me, no matter how good looking he is, until at least 2-3 calf crops have been evaluated.

I'm by no means an expert, but the CE and BW look acceptable, good growth, good carcass traits. The red flag is that docility. How did he act? I would be interested to see his pedigree, if you can post it.

Docility is a must! He is in the 99% for the breed. Ouch!

In my experience, docility has held more true for me than any other EPD. His offspring are going to be knot heads.

I know more info is necessary to make an accurate and objective summary of his EPDs. The yearling had great manners, and the dam's disposition was excellent. The dams DOC EPD is actually in the top 10% of the breed.

image uploading

so this brings us to his sire...

FYI...the reason I haven't posted the yearling's, nor the dam's registration info, is that both are registered under a teenage girl's name and registration number, and being the father of two daughters, I don't want to put their info out on the internet.

Gators Rule said: