Several Questions about a Heifer 7-9 Months

Help Support CattleToday:

shawn_boroviak

Reaction score
I recently bought a rough heifer from the stock sales that I have taken a risk on. As a new cattle farmer, I have several questions on what to do in regards to getting her back to where she needs to be and the chances of her having a living, breathing calf. Being 7-9 months bred, are there any medications that you would/wouldn't give. We have got into a habit of feeding our cattle 14% beef mix, how much of that would you give? Lastly, her hips are exposed and so to are her ribs, what are the chances of her producing a living, breathing calf?

Maybe feed her about 15 lbs. a day if she is getting all the good quality grass she wants. I'd say fatten her up as fast as you can, you might get a good calf. I'm not an expert in this situation as most of mine are TOO fat. You have wormed her, I assume (I like Cydectin injectable). Be sure she has free choice minerals in addition to salt block. I don't think she needs any vaccinations til after she calves, talk to your vet about that. Good luck.

mjnetex":338r3tqc said:
Maybe feed her about 15 lbs. a day if she is getting all the good quality grass she wants. I'd say fatten her up as fast as you can, you might get a good calf. I'm not an expert in this situation as most of mine are TOO fat. You have wormed her, I assume (I like Cydectin injectable). Be sure she has free choice minerals in addition to salt block. I don't think she needs any vaccinations til after she calves, talk to your vet about that. Good luck.

might want to work up to that

Hips and ribs being visible doesn't mean she's emaciated --depending how 'much' they are exposed. Better to have one a little light Shawn than way over conditioned when it's time to calve.

I would worm her and feed her good but no too good. Pouring the feed to her can make the calf grow and you don't want a huge calf.

dun":97ebj836 said: